FAQ SHEET Executive Order:
Mandatory 14-Day Quarantine When Traveling into New Mexico On July 1st the Governor announced that all individuals who arrive in New Mexico from outside the state must self-quarantine for 14 days or for the duration of their stay, whichever is shorter, with some exemptions. Read the travel quarantine executive order.
NMACI has compiled a list of the most frequently asked questions being asked of chambers of commerce around the state.
1. Our business performs work in neighboring states and was deemed essential. Can my employees and I still travel outside the state to conduct business? Yes, you and your employees are exempt from the mandatory travel quarantine as long as you are conducting business and following the COVID-19 public health guidance.
2. Who is exempted from the Order? • Airline employees on travel for work • Individuals performing public safety or public health functions • Emergency first responders • Health care workers • Military personnel • Individuals employed by a federal agency or a national defense contractor • Individuals arriving to New Mexico pursuant to a court order • Individuals employed or contracted by an “essential business”, as defined by the operative public health order addressing mass gathering restrictions and business closures, and who are traveling into New Mexico to conduct business activities.
3. Out-of-state travelers have called my chamber to inquire about our municipal fireworks show, and say they are coming despite recent orders. These visitors must abide by the mandatory 14-day quarantine order when traveling to New Mexico. Individuals who do not comply with the self-isolation and self-quarantine directives are subject to involuntary isolation or quarantine by the New Mexico Department of Health under the Public Health Emergency Response Act. The Governor directed the New Mexico Department of Health, with the cooperation and assistance of all other executive agencies, to take all necessary steps to ensure the screening and appropriate isolation and quarantine of individuals. This will include making temporary holds of individuals or groups, obtaining court orders requiring isolation or quarantine in compliance with the provisions of the Public Health Emergency Response Act, and imposing any civil penalties warranted under the Public PO Box 9706 Albuquerque NM 87119 P.505-842-0644 F.505-842-0734 www.nmaci.org firstname.lastname@example.org New Mexico Association of Commerce and Industry Health Emergency Response Act and the Public Health Act when individuals do not self-isolate or selfquarantine as required. Additionally, the Governor mentioned in her press conference that firework spectators should view municipal shows from their backyards. She also urged municipalities with parades and other 4 th of July events to cancel those events.
4. Does the Order apply to people coming into the state to gamble and/or fish for just one day? Yes. These visitors must abide by the mandatory 14-day quarantine order.
5. How are businesses supposed to enforce the quarantine order and mask order? Many business owners feel that if they let their customers know the orders, they are meeting their obligation. Retailers are now required to ensure that their customers are wearing face coverings in order to enter store premises. Additionally, the Governor announced that the state will aggressively enforce the mandatory face-covering requirement for all residents and visitors in public places (with the exception of individuals with special medical needs and a doctor’s note not to wear a face covering). In accordance with state law, violators may be subject to a $100 fine. If an employee encounters a customer who flagrantly denies requests to wear a face covering and forcibly enters the premises, report the incident to state health authorities at the Department of Health website here, or contact the local police or sheriff’s department on their non-emergency phone lines.
6. Some businesses have already booked rentals and hotel rooms prior to the Order, and their guests have already arrived. What should they do? Hotels and other places of lodging are expected to inform all out-of-state visitors of the mandatory 14- day quarantine and report gross non-compliance to state health authorities at the Department of Health website here, or contact the local police or sheriff’s department on their non-emergency phone lines.
7. Are you allowed to travel from out of state if you own a home in New Mexico? Yes, but you must abide by the 14-day quarantine directive.
8. My county has a considerable number of employees (essential and non-essential) working in New Mexico that live in Texas. Does the Order apply to them? Essential workers are exempt from the 14-day quarantine but not the requirement to wear a face covering. However, essential businesses should make every accommodation possible for out-of-state employees to work remotely. Non-essential workers that live in Texas and commute to New Mexico are subject to the 14-day quarantine. PO Box 9706 Albuquerque NM 87119 P.505-842-0644 F.505-842-0734 www.nmaci.org email@example.com New Mexico Association of Commerce and Industry
9. There are rural people just over the line in Texas that depend on being able to shop in New Mexico. Does the Order apply to them? Shopping for food and essential goods and services are not covered under the 14-day quarantine order.
10. Business owners want to know what happens to the visitors from out of state who are already here and booked vacation rentals for weeks or longer? They have already been out in the community. The current order applies to individuals who have arrived in the state on July 1 or later. Individuals who arrived by air travel prior to July 1 were subject to the 14-day quarantine.
11. If someone has decided to cancel their trip to New Mexico because of the quarantine requirements but the lodger they booked their cabin or hotel through is not giving out refunds, how can they recoup their funds? The Governor’s order does not address this issue. The lodger will need to address the issue directly with the venue. If the reservation was made with a credit card, the lodger may be able to dispute the charge through their credit card.